Essentials of camelia sinensis

ATI Essentials

Home Courses Courses


Course Details

Teacher:Hamish Sasse

Hours: 4 hours

This class introduces Camellia sinensis and the three factors that make it possible for this one plant to be the source of hundreds of kinds of teas. It also explores the botany of the plant, including the history, varieties, cultivars and cellular chemistry. The class continues with the six stages of tea processing and an overview of the six types of tea that come from this single amazing plant. The session concludes in week three with an introduction to professional cupping and the sensory evaluation of tea - a skill you will develop and hone throughout the program.

Topics explored include:

- Name the three factors that make it possible for the one tea plant to produce so many different kinds of tea.

- Describe the tea plant's botanical origins and primary commercial varieties.

- Define variety, cultivar and landraces and the significance of these in tea cultivation.

- Name and describe the six stages of tea processing.

- Identify the defining stage of processing for each type of tea.

- Set up and conduct a professional tea cupping session for the sensory evaluation of teas.

Our Philosphy

We seek to create a community of tea lovers, in order to bring the fascinating culture of tea to the entire world.

Academics Principle

We work so that our students have the best education, giving them access to greater knowledge through our extensive network of associates around the world.

Key of Success

We create awareness about the care of mother nature and encourage the sustainable development in the tea industry.